Challenging Glass Conference

Challenging Glass

Challenging Glass is an international bi-annual conference that aims at gathering world class designers, engineers, researchers and industry partners to discuss on the architectural and structural use of glass. The conference is organised by Jan Belis (UGent), Freek Bos (TU Eindhoven) and Christian Louter (TU Delft) and has been held at TU Delft (2008, 2010, 2012 & 2018), EPFL (2014) and Ghent University (2016 & 2020). In 2020, Challenging Glass 7 was held as a two-hour webinar. The latest edition, Challenging Glass 8, was held 23 & 24 June 2022 at Ghent University in Belgium.

Keynote Speakers

Challenging Glass Conference 8, was held in-person on Thursday 23 & Friday 24 June 2022 at Ghent University.

Download the final program.

Location: Het Pand, Onderbergen 1, 9000 Gent, Belgium.

The conference focuses on the following topics:

  • Architectural Design, Geometries & Lighting

  • Curved & Bended Glass

  • Glass Circularity

  • Glass in Facades

  • Hybrid & Composite Glass Components

  • Insulating Glass Units

  • Joints, Fixings & Adhesives

  • Laminated Glass & Interlayer Properties

  • Numerical Modeling & Experimental Validation

  • Projects & Case studies

  • Stability & Strength

  • Structural Glass Design Philosophy & Structural Safety

Covid-19 regulations

The CGC8 conference organization follows the regulations and guidelines as set by the Belgian authorities. At this moment, all restrictions and requirements have been lifted. There are no limitations to group size, requirements for facemasks or requirements for proof of vaccination or recovery. Although there are currently no immediate indications, this situation may be subject to change. The conference organization cannot be held responsible or liable for the consequences of changes in regulations and guidelines.

Program & Location


Special Issues

Scientific Committee


  • Prof. Jan Belis – Ghent University – Belgium
  • Dr Freek Bos – Eindhoven University of Technology – The Netherlands
  • Prof. Christian Louter – Delft University of Technology – The Netherlands


  • Prof. Suwen Chen – Tongji University – Shanghai – China
  • Prof. Paulo Cruz – University of Minho – Portugal
  • Dr Martina Eliasova – Czech Technical University in Prague – Czech Republic
  • Dr Stephen Morse – Michigan Technological University – United States of America
  • Prof. Jürgen Neugebauer – University of Applied Sciences, FH Joanneum – Austria
  • Dr Jens Henrik Nielsen - Technical University of Denmark - Denmark
  • Prof. Mauro Overend – Delft University of Technology – The Netherlands
  • Prof. Jens Schneider – Technische Universität Darmstadt – Germany
  • Dr Fred Veer - Delft University of Technology - The Netherlands


Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsors

Silver Sponsors

Supporting Partners

Contact Organisers

Prof. Christian Louter - TU Delft

Prof. Jan Belis - Ghent University

Dr. Freek Bos - TU Eindhoven